Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Once Upon a Farm, a review


Fans of Rory and Joey will appreciate the stories told in this book although I found it a little hard to follow at times.  Fans will enjoy reading about buying the farm, how Joey loved the farm, and other interesting aspects of family life.  Reading about how Rory and his family has been recovering from Joey's death was moving.

The one thing that gives me reservations about recommending it fully is the chapter Rory has discussed in interviews already.  I can fully understand a parent showing love and compassion to a daughter who has come out as a lesbian.  No less than his other daughter who admits to being an atheist.  We love our children regardless of their decisions.

However, to say that his daughter's lesbian lover is an answer to prayer and condone a same sex marriage by having the wedding on the farm will most likely have an adverse affect on other fans as it did to me. 

Once Upon a Farm was provided by the publisher for the sake of review but the opinions are my own.

More information can be found... here.

Disclaimer:  Most links to Amazon.com are Associate links.

5 comments:

Anonymous said...

While life often hands us hard situations to cope with, with our children...seems beyond good sense to "help" them along in their paths that do not agree with what we know to be true. One of our 3 is an atheist as well...and often we simply cannot agree with some of her choices...but we have more or less put our lives on hold for now...maybe for the rest of our useful lives...because she needs our help so badly. If we ever hope she will come to GOD, we feel we have to be the best servants we can. HOWEVER, I am not writing a blog accepting her choices, nor writing a book...nor in any way condoning her choices. I would have to agree with you. I do feel for this man...he is still in deep grief...he might have felt differently about what he is doing anyway, was he not in deep grief now.

Deanna Rabe said...

Yes, I read his post about that. Having had a brother who died of an Aids related illness, I understand his love for his daughter, but also agree with you.

Carla said...

Thanks for the heads up - I think I won't bother reading it, now. This is a huge problem in modern parenting. When adult children choose things that we believe are wrong, we shouldn't abandon Biblical principles. Yes, we still love them but accepting them does not mean accepting their choices. My husband and I have have 2 sons who have rejected the faith. We have a lot of sad experience with this.

Anonymous said...

I agree, the forward had me in tears...the chapter about the daughter caused me to put it down and think for awhile if I wanted to continue ...the rest was a pleasant enough story. I finally decided with all he and his kids and everything they have gone thru , and are going thru , maybe he needs a little grace while he catches his breath and gets his feet back under him...but he really wavered on the Word of God, I got the feeling he feels a lot of responsibility for many of her struggles.

Vee said...

Oh. I did not know this. I have a family member who has followed this story and has a heart for this family. I don’t think I will gift the book based on this stand he has taken. I do agree that grace can be given while he finds his footing, but he does his daughter no favors to not adhere to God’s standard. And God loves the daughter far more than even her daddy does.